Windeck Castle (‘Burg Windeck’) was built around the year of 1200 on a promontory in the south-east of the Black Forest town of Bühl. It served several purposes and was not only a home, but also a defensive fortification and a symbol of power. And because it was rather windy up there, the residents of the castle called their new home ‘Wind-Eck’ – which, in German, literally means ‘windy little place’…
The living quarters of the castle and the main hall were largely destroyed in the course of time, so the entrance on ground floor – that is being used nowadays – is actually from the 19th century. The castle withstood all sorts of enemy attacks but was gutted by fire in the 14th century. Today, the castle tower is open for visitors from 9am ‘til dusk between April and October and in winter as well if the weather allows for it. After climbing the tower, you can visit the nearby restaurant & pub whilst letting the kids explore the huge playground.
Further information: www.buehl-buehlertal-ottersweier.de (Google-translated website)